‘I wish I never won $4.5m lottery prize’

by
UK GIRL BROKE AFTER SPENDING WINNINGS
‘I wish I never won $4.5m lottery prize’
THE numbers 1, 10, 17, 23, 29 and 35 changed then-teenager Callie Rogers’ life.
29 August 2009
THE numbers 1, 10, 17, 23, 29 and 35 changed then-teenager Callie Rogers’ life.

She was 16 when she won £1.9 million ($4.5m) in a British lottery in 2003.

It made her Britain’s second youngest winner.

It also made her one of Britain’s youngest losers.

Now 22, Miss Rogers is broke, having spent her money on two breast enlargement operations, luxury cars, booze and a string of deadbeat boyfriends.

The one-time millionaire is now living with her mother in a small house and has to take on three cleaning jobs to make ends meet, reported News of the World.

She has put her home up for sale at a cut-price £180,000 and faces bankruptcy if it isn’t sold as she has a £3,000 legal bill to settle.

She is also locked in a custody battle over one of her two kids – and has attempted to take her life for a second time.

According to The Daily Mail, Miss Rogers told a friend: ‘My life is a shambles and hopefully now the money has all gone I can find some happiness. It’s brought me nothing but unhappiness. It’s ruined my life.

‘I’ve just wanted to make people happy by spending money on them. But it hasn’t made me happy. It just made me anxious that people are only after me for my money.’

This is a far cry from the heady times soon after she won the money. She quit her £3.60-an-hour job and was on the front page of nearly every national newspaper, reported the News and Star. She also made TV appearances.

She said then ‘I’m going to take two years out and go travelling.

‘I’ve never been abroad before, so I need to get my passport. Then after that I would like to go back to education. I’d like to go and do my GCSEs and become a social worker.’

Top of her shopping list then was a new wheelchair for her disabled foster mum.

But sadly, the money soon got to her head.

She bought and furnished four homes for herself, her mum, dad and grandmother. And she splurged £200,000 on luxury holidays with relatives and pals. Around £190,000 went on gifts and unpaid ‘loans’ to loved ones, reported News of the World.

Two breast jobs cost £13,000 in total. And she spent £115,000 on luxury cars plus £250,000 on parties and enjoying the high life.

But a vast chunk went on a string of sponging boyfriends, reported News of the World.

At the time of the win, Miss Rogers was dating boyfriend No 1 who was nine years older than her. He quit his timber-yard job, lived off the £200-a-day ‘wage’ Miss Rogers paid him and blew cash meant for furniture on booze benders.

After they split, boyfriend No 2 was given a £7,000 car and £3,000 to be her chauffeur. Two weeks later, he vanished – with the car.

Depression

Next was an unemployed factory worker.

She bought him a £pounds;15,000 sports car and they got engaged.

But she went on to accuse him of stealing £pounds;53,000, dumped him but dropped the allegation and discovered she was pregnant.

They got back together before their son was born – only for the boyfriend to get arrested for fighting. Amid escalating rows with her family, and battling depression, Miss Rogers overdosed on 60 pills.

Then in 2007 she gave birth – only to discover two months later that her boyfriend was bedding her sister.

The boyfriend is currently fighting for custody of their daughter – and was granted a temporary residence order last week, which means the little girl is living with him.

Miss Roger’s last relationship was with a cocaine dealer now serving two years’ jail.

Shortly before his arrest in December last year, she slashed her wrists and was found in a pool of blood and rushed to hospital.

Life, unfortunately, has come full circle for Miss Rogers.

Four years ago she told how her windfall had led to her first suicide attempt. She said then: ‘Until you win such a large amount of money at such a young age, you don’t realise the pressures that come with it.

‘I did it because winning the lottery has ruined my life. I wish I had never won. I haven’t been able to cope with it – and I was convinced I’d be better off dead.’


HER HUGE BILL

SOME BIG-TICKET ITEMS SHE SPENT ON

Houses for herself, parents, grandma

Cars

Holidays

Gifts, unrepaid loans to family

Food, designer clothing, bills

Partying

Plastic surgery

Cash, gifts, unrepaid loans to friends

AMOUNT

£550,000

£115,000

£200,000

£150,000

£194,000

£250,000

£13,000

£40,000

http://forums.delphiforums.com/n/mb/message.asp?webtag=sunkopitiam&msg=36818.1

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

