She survives 10 days in boot

by

She survives 10 days in boot
UK nurse’s friend jailed 8 years for abducting her
BOUND, gagged and thrust into a car boot for 10 days, nurse Magdeline Makola said she reached a point where she ‘made friends with death’.
24 July 2009

BOUND, gagged and thrust into a car boot for 10 days, nurse Magdeline Makola said she reached a point where she ‘made friends with death’.

Miss Makola, who had no food or drink during this period, was eventually found by police after she managed to make some noise to get their attention.

The incident happened in Scotland in December last year and police caught her abducter, Justice Ngema, soon after.

He was sentenced to eight years jail yesterday, reported the Daily Mail. The judge also ordered that the South African illegal immigrant be deported after his release.

Miss Makola, 38, described what it was like in her ‘coffin’ as the weather outside hit below freezing. She told Sky News: ‘I tried to squeeze some condensation from the boot interior in the hope it would relieve my thirst but it was no good because of the tape on my mouth.’

Ngema abducted Miss Makola, who worked at the Edinburgh Royal Infirmary, from her flat on 16 Dec last year.

He had met the cardiology nurse, who is also South African-born, a handful of times socially and believed she would be an easy source of money.

Shopping spree

He punched her in the head, threatened her with a knife and when she screamed told her: ‘I’m a professional in this job. I kill people. You shut up right now.’

Ngema then bundled her into his car.

He took her credit and bank cards and then bound her up, gagged her and threw her in the boot.

After dumping the car in a secluded area, he used her cards to finance a Christmas shopping spree and drank champagne and cocktails, reported the Scotsman

The judge said said it was ‘particularly chilling’ the abductor carried on with life as normal as his victim lay in the car with no water, food or heat.

He is said to have enjoyed celebrating the Christmas festivities with his girlfriend’s family, who reported that he did not appear anxious.

Meanwhile Miss Makola tried to kick the boot to draw attention, fearing Ngema would return to finish the job as he had left a rope hanging round her neck.

‘I thought that the minute he’s finished with my money he’s going to come back and pull it. So I just started to make friends with death,’ she said.

Her luck turned on 26 Dec.

‘One day I heard no sound outside and concluded it was Christmas Day,’ she said.

‘I decided to curl up and try to relax and enjoy Christmas in the boot. I sang and prayed to myself. I just started giving up on life and I was picturing myself in the coffin.’

The she heard two men talking.

‘I lifted my head to the gap in the boot and shouted ‘Please help me!’ I heard the footsteps come towards me and when they opened the boot and said they were the police, I thought ‘Thank God, I’ve been rescued’.’

Miss Makola screamed in pain as her blindfold was removed and as she tried to drink water through a straw, reported the Sun.

She suffered severe dehydration which has affected her kidneys and has circulation problems from being cramped in the car.

Doctors said that if she hadn’t had been found, she probably would have died within 48 hours.

http://forums.delphiforums.com/sunkopitiam/messages?msg=33762.1

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

