2-hour wait with H1N1 symptoms because doctor lost my form

by
2-hour wait with H1N1 symptoms because doctor lost my form

STOMPer SW had to wait for over two hours at the waiting area of a hospital with a high fever, cough and flu; all symptoms of H1N1, because a doctor lost his patient form.

In an email sent to STOMP today (Aug 3), the STOMPer recounted:

“I went to a hospital A&E department on Aug 2 at 10pm, because I have symptoms of H1N1; a fever of 39 degrees, sore throat, cough and flu.

“After waiting for 2 hours, I approached the nurse to ask if they have forgotten about me as I saw other patients who came later than me had seen the doctor and left.

“The nurse asked for my name and went to check.

“However, she didn’t inform me about the status until I went to ask her again, then she told me that she had informed the doctor already.

“After waiting for another half hour, I went to ask her again; this time round she told me that my patient form was misplaced by the doctor.

“Why is the doctor irresponsible and negligent of her duties? Why is it when I asked the second time then she told me my patient file was misplaced?

“Does it mean that the nurse didn’t check properly the first time when I asked her about it? If I didn’t approach the nurse three times to ask, will they even find out that my patient form was misplaced and will I even get to see the doctor?

“What will happen if there is really an emergency and the staff misplaced the patient form?

“I sincerely hope there is a reasonable explanation on why such negligent actions happened.”

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

